Development and Realisation – Communication Design A2 Poster

I received the brief today for another assignment. In this assignment we have been asked to create a poster, visually communicating one out of ten themes, and show the process in which we have done so. The titles for our poster were:

  •  Where have you been and when?
  •  What is your social network?
  •  How many documented meteor impacts have there been?
  •  Who lives the longest?
  •  What is the fattest country?
  •  Where do different genders shop online?
  •  Who knows each other and how in Star Wars?
  •  What type of music is the most popular?
  •  Who has the largest carbon footprint?
  •  How does the hydrologic cycle (also called the water cycle) work?

After reading this brief I decided to choose the theme “what type of music is the most popular”. This is partially due to me being a huge music fan but also because I felt it gave a wide variety of creative ideas and interesting ways of visually mapping the theme.

Research:

Today I am gathering research on infographic music posters as well as generalised infographic posters. I am mainly interested on researching the main ways in which to present a poster without a large body of text in the most obvious manner. I want to be able to instantly convey my message/title question.

infor1

This is one infographic poster related to informing people of music. This is an example that I thought was very well done, due to the simplistic nature but visually pleasing and informative nature. The person is trying to inform an audience of how often they listen to music in a certain area. The use of a boombox has been used in a highly imaginative way in that it represents the theme of music but also allows a percentage mark. This percentage mark is done in the way that if the lines make it all the way around that will be the 100% mark. As well as this, the use of colour within the lines makes represents an area music was listened to, creating a clear distinction and easy visual for the viewer to follow. This is something I would like to include within my poster. I want it to be simplistic and easy to read and understand what is happening without too much text.

Frequency-chart-music-infographic

This is another example of a music infographic poster displaying the frequency of different musical instruments. This poster is also highly imaginative with the keyboard at the top acting as a graph and each key being a different frequency. I really like the imagination involved in this poster which creates a much more exciting image drawing the viewer in. However, due to the complicated nature of the poster I feel that it does not work as well in the visual communication side. There is alot of visual involved and it can be quite confusing to actually process the information. On the other hand, the visual colours used within this poster are very appealing and really draw in a viewer which is something I will want to include within my poster.

Initial Ideas:

For coming up with initial ideas of what I wanted to create I made a mind map in order to help me process ideas.

Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 06.11.01

Final Idea and Sketch Designs:

I decided on the idea in the top right of my initial ideas mind map. This idea consisted of designing headphones within illustrator and cables and waveforms coming from the headphones in order to visually display the popularity of music genre. I began by sketching an idea of how I wanted my final poster to look. This is helpful because it allows me to visualize how I want my final product to look as well as give me a guideline to go by whilst I design within illustrator.

IMG_6769

Music Survey:

Before I am able to begin creating my poster I needed to take a survey of what genre of music my friends preferred to listen to. I asked thirty of my friends to choose one genre which was their favourite. As you can tell my friends are all rather similar in music taste. At first I thought this may be bad because of how few genres were selected but decided that this would go even better with my theme of simplicity and visual impact.

Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 06.37.18

Development Process:

I thought it would be easier to show the development process by displaying print screen through vital points of the process rather than explain everything so below are screenshots through the development stage.

Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 06.44.55 Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 06.48.53 Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 06.49.11 Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 06.49.27 Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 06.49.37 Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 06.49.48 Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 06.50.12 Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 06.50.23

In this part of the process I used shapes to create headphones, using the ellipse and rectangle tools. I then used the arc tool for the headphone wire and the line tool to create the waveforms. Finally using the pen tool to create the waveform arc. The text tool was used to create the font shown. Drop shadow was also used to make the headphones stand out more and have a bigger impact

Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 07.23.05  Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 07.22.19 Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 07.19.19 Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 07.07.45 Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 07.22.26

This part of the process you can see I changed my mind on the colour scheme, deciding to use black because I felt it gave a much bigger impact. I duplicated the headphone designs and changed the colour scheme as I chose. As well as this the scale tool was used to change the waveform width and height as well as the pen tool used again to create a different waveform. Finally the use of glow was used to make a bigger impact.

Final Poster:

Very Final Poster

Leave a Reply

